powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2005-06-13 - 11:42 a.m.

Please Read Instructions Carefully

Highland River Melees was a lot of fun, but it was absolutely miserable in the physical well-being front.

Hot and humid, I can only recall two other recent events that rival it: Last year's Assessments (where we were all dropping like flies of heat exhaustion), and the Coronation of Janos and Rachel, where I also collapsed because of the heat.

So I had been taking both steroids and antibiotics for my bronchitis, and I had been hoping to be well enough to fight at HRM. Although I felt reasonably well to fight the first two scenarios, I started feeling faint early in the game and decided to sit it out.

To no avail. Later that afternoon I performed a Wicked Witch of the West (I am melting! Meeeeltiiiinnnggg!), and collapsed.

I had to wonder why I was feeling so poorly. It was hot and humid, but this was just too much. No amount of water and fanning would help.

(On the plus side, the Ponte Alto Cabana Boy Squad was born, with Seamus, George, and Marcellus doing the fanning.)

(Heck, they even gave themselves new names: Seamus = Raul; George = Jorge; Marcellus = Roberto; and Jeff is now known as Manuel just not to be left out.)

At any rate, next morning I decided to read the general warnings on the medication label and, sure enough, there was this paragraph that clearly said: "Avoid exposure to sun."

Duh.

Nevertheless, as miserable as I was feeling, I would not have missed HRM for the world.

Just seeing Kynny get his WS, Argh getting his Sea Dragon, Fiona her Hippocampus, Gruffudd his Pelican, and a bunch of Pontoons recognized for their work on the field, A&S and service made it worth all the while.

It was a good day all in all.

***********************************************************

Sunday I was lazy and decided not to expose myself to the sun again.

(See what happens when you read instructions?)

Went to practice and did hang out for a little bit, but not enough to get much sun.

On the other hand, I did a lot of laundry, finished the grommets for Denise's gold gown, and finished the favors for the Ponte Alto teams at Challenge of the Heart.

I even got to work on Marcellus' new WS, which is about done.

Phew! I feel accomplished.

Oh, and Seamus brought the new armor legs that he made for me. He did a great job. Quite a difference from my old clunky ones.

Now, to get the rest of my heavy equipment up to par and get to practice.

But not before I finish my medication.

I refuse to melt again.

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!