powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2004-12-03 - 5:15 p.m.

It is Friday afternoon, and I am so tired that I don't even have much energy left to write.

It seems that this week it has been dedicated to run around putting fires off and trying to get things done before the end of the year, which is approaching at dizzying speed.

And if people sent us all the correct paperwork from the beginning, we would not have to send it back a gazillion times before being able to do anything with it.

And they say that we are bureoucratic. Sigh.

At any rate, Carlos' school transportation has been arranged (finally), making our morning commute a lot easier, and allowing us to resume our gym routine as usual.

I have also finished the first draft of the Spike for Marcellus' new white scarf, which I have been intending to embroider for months. Too many projects and too little time to give it any attention but, having finished my roses and roundels for the cloaks project, I have spent an entire evening looking at (real) seahorses in order to come up with a design.

Oh, yes, we do have some really fine Spikes in the Atlantian Emboiderer's guild website, but they are mainly for counted stitch projects. (And really nice, by the way.) However, what I have in mind is a little bit different.

My idea is to do something that resembles the blue and white designs seen in Majolica pottery, only in an embroidered seahorse. I will probably do it in split-stitch, but I am not sure yet how that's going to work. Silk over linen. That will do. And maybe some spangles and beads. Maybe.

Or maybe I am going to end up doing something completely different. When I take upon projects in which I intend to "paint" with silk, interesting things happen.

Interesting critters, seahorses. They come in all shapes and sizes. One site even tells you how to find out if your seahorse is a boy or a girl.

Mmmmm . . . maybe instead of a Spike, we will end up with a Spikette.

Or maybe a Spike on one end of the scarf *and* a Spikette on the other, but then they would probably misbehave when we are not watching and Marcellus' white scarf would end up with a whole litter of little Spikeys and . . .

That's it, I am losing it. I am going home.

Thank God is Friday.

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!