powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2004-11-30 - 2:42 p.m.

So I am driving back home after a practice at Alle Psallite, and I am almost there when some idiot in an SUV, riding in the right lane, suddenly decides to make a left in front of me.

There were two cars behind me, which started honking like crazy as I slammed the brakes and veered left, trying desperately not to crash head on into the moron's vehicle.

(I did not honk myself as I cannot drive, avoid disaster, and give the finger to other motorists at the same time. So sue me.)

Everything happened so quickly and yet, it was as if time slowed down and stretched in front of me. And all the while I am thinking "I am going to crash. I am soooo going to crash."

Somehow, I was able to miss him by a hairbreath at the very last second, invading the left lane in the process. Thank God there was no incoming traffic or my driving acrobatics would have resulted into a spectacular multiple vehicle accident.

But not attempting acrobatics would have resulted into a multiple vehicle accident all the same. So damn if you do it, damn if you don't.

Lovely.

I wonder who was driving the SUV and whether he or she was drunk, stoned, or all of the above, or if it was simply a case of DWT (Driving While Teenager). Whatever it was, it was awful.

I have come to the conclusion that:

a) My car has very good brakes (thank god for anti-lock brakes!);

b) My reflexes can be really fast: and

c) My guardian angel was working overtime.

I am just grateful that I made it home safe and sound.

But it was too close for comfort.

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!