powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2006-01-04 - 3:58 p.m.

Diaryland vs. Live Journal

I have opened an account in Live Journal, and I must admit that I am having all sorts of fun with it. The addy? Belfebe, of course.

There are many features that I like about Diaryland, such as the stats. I also like the way you can set up a page, and the fact that it lends itself to writing postings in an article or column form, not to mention that there are many people I like in this forum and that I love to stay in touch with.

On the other hand, the Diaryland Guestbook seems to have periodic outages and lately it is not even notifying me when someone drops a note. And although the outages in the site have decreased in frequency, it is still the occasional pain in the butt.

What I like about LJ is that it is very interactive. Perhaps it is because the "comments" section is not a separate one and the notifications work instantly. You can also have a conversation online with everyone without ever having to reopen the program.

The LJ "locking" feature is nice too. There are things that you may not mind your usual readers to see, but opening them to all and sundry is not that cool. Sure, Diaryland has a locking feature, but that means that you would have to lock the entire journal forever and that everyone must have a password to access your diary.

That, my friends, is a royal pain in the butt. I much prefer to be able to filter and lock some sections, while allowing the world to read the rest.

(Not that I see the need to lock stuff often, but you know what I mean.)

So all in all, I am not yet departing from Diaryland, but my incursions to LJ are becoming more and more frequent. Admittedly, the postings here and the postings there may be different due to the fact that the "feel" of each site is different and I like them both.

But if you want to drop by my other journal, feel free. I will be popping in and out of both diaries.

Toodles,

Bel

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!