powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2006-01-03 - 3:11 p.m.

12th Night Countdown

So 12th Night is rapidly approaching and we are working like crazy trying to finish Cat's Italian gown in time. I think we will. She has done a good work pearling that thing, and the pattern fits her like a glove.

I like 16th C. Italian.

It will suit her well, since her persona is 16th C. Italian, and the advantage of the female doublet is that, when boned and laced and buttoned, it is self-supporting and does away with the need for wearing a corset (the Pirate-Cat had refused to wear one anyway, so this was a good solution). It is also very graceful and versatile. Think Sofonisba Anguissola. That was the source of my inspiration.

I am particularly happy that I made the pattern from scratch, and that it fits well, not to mention that I have been learning a lot about period female garb construction lately.

Like I said before, it all boils down to "What are we going to do with those boobs?" Once you realize that it is all about the boobs, your pattern will fit like a charm.

I would post a picture of the work in progress (the doublet, not the boobs), but I think it will be a lot more fun to surprise everyone at 12th Night.

After that, I will need to start working on my French wardrobe, which will probably include some Italian gowns as well.

Ahhh, no rest for the wicked.

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!