powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2005-11-22 - 4:35 p.m.

Garth is Back

Garth is back.

I am thrilled.

Has anyone listened to his new single, "Good Ride Cowboy"? It was not until I saw an interview with Da Man himself that I realized that it was a song celebrating the life of Chris LeDoux, who died recently. It is a great song and I highly recommend it to any country music buff.

And yes, I am a hardcore country music fan and proud of it.

Country music, like any other kind, has its own ups and downs.

Nowadays, I believe that there are more downs than ups. I have been keeping tabs with the country music stations and I must admit that a lot of the stuff that is being played nowadays is rather schmaltzy, preachy stuff, not of the quality of a Garth Brooks.

Other than the ocassional new single by your George Strait or Brooks and Dunn, the pickings out there are currently very slim.

(Although I have to admit that there are some kickass new artists out there, like Gretchen Wilson and Big and Rich.)

(This from a big Dixie Chicks fan.)

And much to my surprise, most of my favorite country artists lean more to hardcore country than pop. Such is life.

And don't get me wrong. I like pop. I just don't like it playing in my Country station.

I was also dissapointed at the new Carrie Underwood single, "Jesus Take the Wheel." Perhaps it is because I don't like preachy songs. And if you are going to preach at me, you'd better sound like Randy Travis.

But I am thrilled that Garth is back.

It was about time.

And I am sooooo pre-ordering his new boxed set!

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!