powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2005-11-21 - 5:15 p.m.

Holiday Faire

I expected today to be the Day from Hell.

Much to my delight, that did not come to pass. Although a very busy day, it has gone rather smoothly.

Yay me!

***********************************************************

Holiday Faire was a hoot, not to mention the best shopping aside from Pennsic. I think that Stierbach has something really nifty going on with that event, which may become one of the biggest draws of the season if you ask me.

I have to say that I was really proud of myself, as I resisted the call of the fabric. In other words, I purchased none.

These days I am trying to be a little bit more selective. My sewing room is bursting at the seams (pardon the bad pun) with fabric as it is, so whatever I purchase these days must be something for which I have immediate use.

I did, however, acquire some nifty pottery, more leater for gloves (decent, lightweight leather being so hard to come by), and some embroidery supplies from the Spanish Peacock.

Spanish Peacock = SCA Crack. Who can resist?

Anywhoo, besides the good shopping ops, the rapier tourney was a lot of fun.

(Hey guys, hurry up! All this fighting is getting in the way of my shopping!)

There were about 10 of us, and it was a double elim tourney.

There are days in which I sign up into a tourney and beat the pants out of everyone.

Saturday was not one of those.

I underestimated my first opponent and got killed on my first fight. (I deserve it for not listening to my own advice of "never underestimate your opponent.")

The second fight was a very good one. Dante says that it was the most enjoyable fight of the day, since he could not find any openings on me. Funny, I was trying to look for my own opportunity to close on him, while he was looking for an opportunity to snipe. It took a long while, I tell you.

In the end he got me, which is okay. Heck, there was shopping to be done! :-)

Or it would have, had it not been for the fact that they were awarding points for style and I tied up with Connor. That meant that we had to go back and fight for the title of "Da Fighter with the Most Style."

That was loads of fun.

In the end, I lost the fight but won the title which, taking into account that Connor has flair out of the whazoo, it was no mean feat.

Nevertheless, not having advanced in the double elims doesn't mean that I had a bad fighting day. Aside from the Style Prize, I redeemed myself in the pickups. The weather was magnificent, and my asthma gave me a break, which means that I finally started getting touches on people. We did some melee fighting, and I also got to teach and fight some more, plus I got a rematch with Connor.

My smallsword vs. his saber blade.

Ohhhhhh . . . it was beautiful . . .

Even if we got yelled at for rough playing, and pushing and blade grasping.

Heh.

***********************************************************

And that's all for today.

Toodles!

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!