powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2005-02-25 - 5:52 p.m.

Friday, wonderful Friday. This week has been far too busy, and I did welcome the snow with glee.

I was a bum yesterday, and decided to stay home. Yes, my car is not that good in snow and, although it was not bad in the morning I did not want to risk the hair-raising drive back that I experienced last time. So there.

The day was not unproductive. Marcellus and I went to the gym like the good kids we are, and now my butt hurts. (No, it is not Marcellus' fault. It is just the new routine that I was trying for my quads. Hey, the routine must be working.)

I spent most of the day doing laundry (how exciting!), working on the documentation for my A&S entry at KASF, and creating general mayhem. (General mayhem, one of the many services I provide.)

However, in the end, we spent a quiet evening watching "Shaun of the Dead," next to a nice, cozy fire.

If you have not watched that movie, do so. We highly recommend it. I am not personally a big fan of horror movies, but this one was really, really good.

I had read the reviews and they advertised as a comedy, giving the impression that it was a spoof of Dawn of the Dead. It is much more than that, I think. Although it has a good number of very funny moments, in a very dark and twisted way, it has many more elements than your usual horror or horror/spoof story.

For one thing, it has at least a couple of love stories in there, and I appreciated the way in which some of the characters matured and grew up in the story. (With the sole exception of Eddie, who I would have fed to the zombies five minutes into the movie.)

The best description I have read is "A love story, with zombies." I would add that it is a story of motherly love, beer, attacking the undead with old Elvis' albums, redemption, and annoying roommates.

Rent it. You won't regret it.

I would elaborate more on it, but it is Friday, I am still at work, it has been insane today, and I am going home.

-- Belphoebe out.

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!