powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2005-12-28 - 4:24 p.m.

Merry Christmakah!

Hello everyone! I hope that you all had a Merry Christmas and/or a Happy Hannukah! Marcellus and I had a terrific time, and by the sound of it Carlos did too. (He is in Ireland with his Dad and stepmother.)

Because Carlos was not with us this year, and Hector is still in a "Bah, Humbug," mode, we decided to officially declare December 24 "Us Day." By this meaning that we would dedicate the day to each other and have a wonderful and romantic time.

For openers, we went up to the spa and each had a massage.

"Holiday stress? What holiday stress?"

Then we went to the Charthouse in Alexandria and had a romantic Christmas Eve dinner while watching the lights on the waterfront. After that, we went home and opened presents by the Christmas tree.

A perfect end to a perfect day.

Oh, and did I tell you that my sweetie got me a new buckler and the fittings for a rattan smallsword? Doesn't get more romantic than that . . .

On the 25th we headed out for Pennsylvania to visit his family, where much fun was had by all. We particularly enjoyed a cutthroat game of Risk, Lord of the Rings version, with his sister Angie. (Note to self, must acquire a copy of said game. It's awesome.)

Morning of the 26th saw us driving back home, where my sweetie promptly got to bed, in an attempt to fight a bad cold that has been hounding him for days. (He seems to be getting better for which I am much relieved. Poor baby.)

The 27th we went to Gavin and Yael's wedding. It was a blast. They had a live swing band, and had a terrific time with a wonderful bunch of people. The ceremony was lovely and the bride and groom were adorable.

Also, my pal Eadric and I had previously been asked to act as guards for the bride and groom. What does this mean? Well, Jewish custom indicates that after the wedding ceremony the couple must have a space of time alone. Our job was to make sure that no one interrupted the newlyweds.

And of course, this goes to prove that if you ask Scadians to guard, you'd better be prepared to have them show up with the appropriate accoutrements. And since the bride and groom were also Scadians, this meant that Eadric showed up with his broadsword and me with Marcellus' Schiavona.

And no, this was not a period wedding so you must picture Eadric in his suit and tie and me in a cocktail dress looking ferocious while holding our weapons.

Needless to say that no one interrupted the couple's privacy. It was a lot of fun.

Finally, last night I fitted Cat for her 12th Night doublet, and I was very happy how the pattern worked. The fact that I added a couple of bones to it helped the doublet fit just fine. Tonight I am picking some more boning from G Street. The Cat is going to look terrific.

And now, back to the drawing board.

-- Bel

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!