powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2005-12-19 - 6:01 p.m.

Amalgamating to the Oldies

This entry has been brought to you by the letter A.

Anywhoo, last Friday we went to see The Chronicles of Narnia and, before I post my review, I must clarify that I have never read the books.

"How can that happen?" You may ask, a horrified expression upon your faces. "Weren't you supposed to be a bookworm of a kid that read everything that she could lay her hands on?"

"Well," Say I. "You must take into account that C.S. Lewis was never one of the most popular juvenile writers in my native Mexico. That would have been Emilio Salgari, who has never been translated into English as far as I can tell. In fact, I had never heard of C.S. Lewis until my children started growing up. So there."

Now, of course, I will have to read the complete series, just because it seems to be a wonderful tale. (A new set of books to enjoy! Ohhh, the sacrifice!)

At any rate, having confessed to never having read anything written by C.S. Lewis, I enjoyed the movie immensely. Particularly the part where the White Queen battles the forces of good in her chariot pulled by two polar bears. It was awesome! And she kicked butt.

Yes, boys and girls, I was rooting for the White Witch. You've got to love a woman with a great sense of fashion who can fight case, what else can I say? And of course, my favorite kid was Edmund, perhaps because he was the most flawed of all characters. I am a sucker for a tale of redemption.

At any rate. Saturday was quite productive. I spent a lot of time working on the webpage, and made a lot of progress on the neverending "Muff" section. You won't be able to find it yet, as it is not linked to anything, but it is looking really good. However, it is taking longer than I expected as I have been uploading a bunch of images while wrestling with evil FrontPage, not to mention that just cutting and pasting the documentation for it just does not cut the mustard.

Oh, believe me, I tried. Nevertheless, what makes a lot of sense on a hard copy document with a bunch of attachments makes no sense whatsoever as a web document. Hence my having to rewrite the entire thing.

But it will be great when I am done.

In the evening we went to Mel's house, who was having a Christmas party. I haven't had so much fun in a long time. Interpretive readings were the highlight of the night and much fun was had by all. (Oh, and we did amalgamate!)

Sunday I helped Ana fit her bodice (can't wait to see her dress at 12th Night!), and made a lot of progress with Cat's outfit. At least now she has a proper chemise for her gown, and the skirt is ready for cartridge pleating. Yay me!

And that's it for now. Tonight is Christmas Carols at Missy Anne's and I hear that the ban to "Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer" has been lifted.

Toodles!

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!