powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2005-11-15 - 3:26 p.m.

Movie Time!

Movies.

I am not a TV or movie person and I must admit that Netflix is doing great business with me. I order movies and they sit in my living room for weeks and sometimes months at a time.

What can I say? I have the attention span of a gnat when it comes to watching movies, and if I turn the TV on, it will probably be to provide white noise.

But it is a heckuva lot better than renting movies via regular method and then having to return them without having watched them.

At any rate, sometimes I drag myself to the movie theater, and sometimes I even sit long enough on the couch and watch a movie in its entirety.

So here are my latest reviews:

Zathura

Sunday we got motivated and went with Jeff and Greta to the neighborhood movie theatre. Our pick, Zathura, which is a movie based on a book by the same author as Jumanji.

If you liked Jumanji, you will love Zathura.

"Sure," you may say. "It's Jumanji in outer space, only without Robin Williams."

Well, not really. Story line is a bit different, and it is still a very good story. The three kids involved in the movie were extremely awful in the beginning. I really felt sorry for Tim Robbins, as the harassed single parent of those three needy little varmints.

But the astronaut was cool.

And the little brats eventually get on with the program and get their act together.

And I love the ending and the secret of the astronaut.

There are giant, meat-eating lizards in it.

Go see it.

Dude, Where's My Car?'.

That movie has to be my latest guilty pleasure. I must admit that although the "No and then!" has become a staple phrase for all of us FFGrs, I never watched anything but the previews as I thought that the actual movie might be really moronic.

It is.

But it is primo moronic.

This is the kind of movie that grabs you by the throat and you simply cannot stop watching. It is just hysterical how these two morons with a heart of gold get into trouble, and because they had been really messed up the night before they cannot remember anything.

Except that the rest of the world does remember them, as do a bunch of aliens that want to take over the world, other aliens that want to save the world, some bullies, a bunch of strippers, a she-male exotic dancer, and a bunch of UFO worshippers.

All while trying to prove to their girlfriends, The Twins, that they are not totally hopeless and that they have not forgotten their anniversary.

If they could only find the presents, which are in the car, which they cannot find.

Ashton Kutcher and Sean William Scott just rock, and if you pay attention, you will catch Brent Spinner in the most hilarious cameo, as a French ostrich farmer.

It is also a lot of fun to see a very young Jennifer Garner playing the part of one of the twins, the girlfriends of the hapless Kutcher and Scott.

My kind of movie.

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!