powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2005-11-04 - 11:55 a.m.

The French Connection or Have You Seen My Godfather?

Fencing practice was a lot of fun last night, although I was annoyed no end by my lack of ability to breathe.

(This in spite of having had a good workout at the gym in the morning, taking my asthma medication in the morning, and getting my two puffs out of my inhaler before engaging in any fencing bouts.)

(Bummer.)

Nevertheless, I did manage to get a lot of fighting done, with brief respites to get my breath back, and got to work in getting rid of some bad habits that I have picked up while getting rid of other bad habits.

No rest for the wicked . . .

***********************************************************

Anywhoo, I am determined to design my webpage even if it kills me.

(We uncommon monkeys are very determined. Lots of cursing is involved.)

Said webpage will be dedicated to French and Italian late period fashion. French is particularly my area of research these days, not only because I want to do more persona development, but because I have realized that there is not much organized information about it as it is.

Then again, I am in love with Italian fashion, from late 15th Century all the way to the end of the 16th. And the fact that those people were obsessed with getting their portraits painted only adds to my drooling on the subject.

But Bel is French, and French she will remain. As fascinated as I am about Italian fashion, I am also fascinated with the whole Valois dinasty and particularly the times of Catherine d'Medici.

So there you are.

And speaking of fashion, I have decided that there will not be a new outfit for 12th Night. My current project, which is still in the planning stages, is a dress inspired on the Valois tapestries.

(Which ironically enough, are located at the Uffizzi Gallery in Florence. See the French/Florentine connection? No wonder I am fascinated by both.)

Theme of "The Godfather" playing in the background.

(Or maybe "The French Connection"?>

Whatever.

Believe me, this project will take a while.

In the meantime, I will be making a nifty coverci�re for my crackheaded Florentine so I can look really spiff at 12th Night.

It will be cool.

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!