powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2005-10-17 - 2:06 p.m.

She Who Dies With the Most Fabric Wins!

Let me see if can I have 5 minutes to post an entry without being interrupted 50 gazillion times.

After all, this is in theory my lunch hour.

Heh . . .

***********************************************************

It was great to have a weekend free of events.

Don't get me wrong. I love events just like anyone else, but when you are attending one every single weekend, there are a lot of other things that will remain undone and that will drive you nuts.

Like organizing the sewing room . . . again . . .

You see, when we remodeled the bathroom, we lost the closet in that room in order to make more room for the bathroom. (They shared a wall.) It is not really that bad, as eventually that room will become a closet itself. However, for now it is my sewing room and it was completely littered with the stuff that was in the closet.

Plus once you have started littering the room, you will continue doing so to the point of not been able to find anything or do anything in there.

So Saturday was "Sewing Room Day."

As I started to get everything cleared out, and after four garbage bags with discards, I started finding stuff that I had been missing for quite a while.

Like embroidery linen.

Lots of it.

The fact that I went and purchased more because I could not find the linen that I had purchased before in the first place, is not a consolation. Now that I spent the money on even more linen so I could finish my project (namely Seamus' blackworked cuffs and neckband), I found the original piece.

Oh, well. Not like I am not going to use it on something else anyway.

But now you can actually walk around in the room and, most importantly, find stuff.

And speaking on purchasing fabric. Marcellus bought some really beautiful rust and gold colored brocade for a Florentine tabard for himself. It will be his 12th Night project.

After frantically visiting every fabric store in town and on the Internet for fabric for a doublet and hose that would match that brocade, we ended up finding it in . . . yes! You have guessed right! Our very own sewing room!

It so happens that years ago I had purchased some really nice chocolate-brown wool, and on a separate occasion, some beautiful gold dupioni. (The latter will serve as the tabard's lining.)

At the time I made these purchases I had no clue as what to use them for and they languished in the sewing room for a long time. And now, voila they match Marcellus' project just perfectly!

This has been a habit of mine, purchasing fabric just because it is pretty and with no plan for it. I have considered it a somewhat bad habit. Lately, I have tried to limit myself to purchase fabric only for specific projects.

Alas, I may have proven myself wrong.

Having fabric lying around may be actually very useful. Particularly when you are shopping for stuff that you cannot find, but that you bought months or even years ago, and that now matches your new fabric beautifully.

So, let the games begin!

S/he who dies with the most fabric wins!

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!