powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2005-10-10 - 8:59 a.m.

Crusades

Kingdom Crusades, for some reason, has never been a favorite event of mine. Some people feel like that about 12th Night for example, whereas 12th Night is one of my all time faves.

That is why, ironically, this Crusades has been the best for me in spite of all the rain and the muck.

Go figure.

Perhaps it is because of the way the tournaments were organized. Also, because it was too wet to do anything else and it was cozy enough that you could socialize and meet new people while you were fighting them. There was a spirit of camaraderie amongst Atlantians and Easterners alike that made me feel welcome and allowed me to have a lot more fun than usual.

I was happy with my fighting altogether, and my asthma didn't bother me too much. I also liked the fact that they opened the Champions Tournament to all comers, while the two queens looked at their list of fencers an had fun pairing those people that they thought would be fun to watch together.

Atlantia lost by only one point, but the fact that it was such a close race made the tournament the more exciting. There was a huge crowd watching, and it was great to cheer and holler along with everyone else.

And although I lost mine, I gave my opponent a run for his money, even after I had lost my right arm. We gave a very good show, and that is what counts.

On the A&S department, all I have to say is that, although there were fewer entries than in other years, the quality of most was stunning. I was particularly impressed with a lady from the East who brought an embroidered coif in gold and polychrome silk that was just exquisite. Although I had an entry myself, I gave her my vote for the populace favorite.

It was awesome.

Sunday we went to Missy Anne's for dinner, as Tirloch was test driving some recipes for Day at the Races II.

It was absolutely yummy.

Then again, this is Tirloch we are talking about. Everything he cooks is yummy. He also promises to include a dish involving pinneaples, as they would have been appropriate for the period and theme of our event.

Mmmmmmmmmmm . . . pinneaples . . .

And last, but not least, I am off today. I had the best of intentions to pick up some embroidery supplies from the Needlewoman East, but that will depend on the weather.

If it starts raining cats and dogs, I plan to stay home and do some laundry instead.

My clothes are beginning to talk to me and are threatening to run away with the circus if I don't wash them.

Ooops . . . I think I just saw my socks running out the door.

Belfebe out.

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!