powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2005-10-04 - 5:39 p.m.

Curlers

My goodness, this week has just started and it has already been horribly busy.

I had plans of posting longer and more entertaining entries but, alas, all I have been able to post so far relates to the excitement of doing laundry and going shopping.

Oh, and The Constellation. That is really cool.

Heck, I had to have at least one cool thing in my diary, dammit.

At any rate, and continuing with the fascinating topic of cleaning closets, as mentioned in my previous entry, I finally tackled the whites closet which was half-full with our stuff and half-full with all sorts of crap that the previous owner left in there.

Now, if it had been just general crap, it would have been easier just to dump everything into a plastic bag and trash it. Unfortunately, I feel really bad about throwing out perfectly new things, still in their original packaging, even though they are totally useless to me.

Take for example exhibit A, which consists in a spanking brand new set of electric curlers. Anyone who knows me also knows that I need electric curlers like I need a hole in the head. If I want to sport curls, all I need to do is to is wash my hair, put some goop on it, and let it air dry.

"So why don't you give this lady a call and give them back to her?"

Because she moved to California and damn if I am going to take the trouble to package the damned thing, stand in line at the post office and pay for postage. Plus, I don't have her address, and the curlers are only one of the many things she left behind.

There are, for instance, the boxes and boxes of cleaning products. I believe that it will be years before I need to purchase any Swiffer refills of any size, type, color and shape. And it goes on and on.

(The countles bottles of alcohol that we inherited from her, I dumped in the drain long ago. Alcohol and teenagers at home don't mix.)

So in the end, it is a matter of storing all that stuff in the shed, throw away whatever has become gooey and icky with age, trash whatever I think is useless, and take the rest of the stuff to Goodwill.

Then there was the matter of our own stuff too.

While emptying the closet, I discovered to my shock that I have more candles that I can shake a stick at.

And I have purchased each and every one of those suckers.

(Well, almost.)

Big candles, little candles, scented and unscented candles, tapers, pillars, votives, candleholders, you name it.

As a result, I have been currently forbidden to buy one more candle until we use up all the ones we have in the closet.

Fortunately, I used a number of them to decorate the new bathroom and, heck, you can always use good candles. Particularly when you want to take a nice, relaxing bath in your cool new tub and light a bunch of them around it.

(That's one good use for a bunch of pillar candles.)

(Ahhh, bubble bath . . .)

(No, no electric curlers in the bath water!)

(Why not?)

(Bzzztttt)

(Argh!)

Anyone interested in a new set of electric curlers?

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!