powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2005-09-19 - 2:01 p.m.

Chalice II: The Poseidon Adventure

Chalice II was a lot of fun, although a lot more hot and humid than last year. I had the best of intentions of doing some fencing but, alas, that was not to be.

(Besides, like I said, it was too damned hot.)

Instead, I spent most of my time participating in the bardic competition and hanging out with the archers.

Since we were picking our Baronial Archery Champion (not to be confused with the Chalice Archery Champion, whose title was up for grabs too), it was an absolutely wonderful opportunity to spend time with the archers. I rarely have the chance to do so at events, what with running around between Baronial duties, participating in rapier tournaments, checking the A&S and, in some cases, firing siege engines.

Not only I had a blast, but I also got the chance to get acquinted with some of our very enthusiastic newcomers, who have taken up archery.

I will try to do this more often.

Morning activities started with the Piratecat's Free Scholar prize. It was great to see her get play her prize, Robert being the representative of the Provosts, which was really neat. Her fight with the Gypsyboy impersonating Freddy was a hoot and, after she was done fighting the other Free Scholars and their proxies, and the representative of the Scholars, the entire Household ganged up on her. (The latter being a fine Fallen From Grace tradition.)

Also, Alyce outdid herself with the really nice spread and all the pomp and circumstance with banners, dayshade, etc. for the Cat.

All in all, it was a lot of fun.

After that, I rushed into the main hall and performed my piece for the bardic. It was one of the "Cantigas de Amigo" from the 12C. by Martin Codax, called "Quantas Sabedes Amar Amigo."

Much to my relief, my piece came out pretty well and I was happy with my performance.

I guess the judges were happy too because at the end of the day someone approached me and said:

"You have won the bardic competition"

"I have?"

"Yes, and you have to make ready. You are doing the face-off against the Champion in 15 minutes."

"I am?"

In the end, it was me facing off my girl Cassie, who unfortunately was having a horrid case of the flu combined with overheating due to the humidity of the weather. Because of that, she could not sing and decided to juggle instead.

And juggle away she did and, taking into account that she was sick as a dog, she did a fine job putting up a good show. She is a fine example of the traditional "The show must go on."

(If you want to know, I sang "A Sailor's Prayer.")

But I wish that she would have been feeling well. She is an amazing entertainer and, had she been able to perform at her usual level, I might not have become the Chalice Bardic Champion.

(Then again, I might have, but it would have been a lot harder.)

However, since we both are singing buddies, I am sure that we will have plenty of opportunities to face each other in future competitions.

It will be fun.

At any rate, another reason to be extremely happy was the diversity and quality of the entries for the A&S competition and display. It was like walking into a Tempore Atlantia and, although I held my title as the Chalice Artisan, I did it by just one point.

It was amazing to see so many people doing such wonderful work and that is even more important than winning a competition.

In the end, there was a new Chalice Heavy Champ, Sir Justus, who defeated Lord Connell McLeod. Also, the Gypsyboy bested Marcellus on the rapier field and became the new Chalice Rapier Champion, while Lord Siegfried retained his title as the Chalice Archery Champ.

It is important to point out that the Chalice Champions have nothing whatsoever to do with the Baronial Champions. There seems to be some confusion with some folk, but I think that it is important to clarify that those are two entirely different things. (Heck, I would never try to be my own Baronial Bard, are you crazy?)

At any rate, our team, "Belfabulous and the Boys," ended up taking the Chalice of the Sun God and became the new Chalice of the Sun God Team Champions, besting the mighty "Walking Wounded," who did a terrific job defending their title.

Just before Court, various people approached me and told me: "You know? We are putting together a kickass team and we will beat you guys next year!"

That's what I like to hear! The more people gunning for us, the more fun this event will be!

I can't wait till Chalice III!

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!