powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2005-09-08 - 5:04 p.m.

A Terrifying Thought . . .

Yet another really busy day, so all we get is a mini-posting:

In regards to my previous posting on fairy tales, I have become convinced that Perrault, the Grimm Brothers, and to an extent Hans Christian Andersen, were to children's classic literature what R.L. Stine is to modern children's literature.

Disney had nothing on them.

Children, in many ways, are bloodthirsty little varmints who enjoy a good horror story just like the best of us.

Remember, Roal Dahl's "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" and "The Witches" were nowhere saccharine ladden stories. The movies might be, but not the books.

However, one day, in decades to come, we will probably get the disneyfied version of Stine's "Night of the Living Dummy."

Now, that is a terryfying thought . . .

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!