powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2005-07-25 - 6:27 p.m.

No Rest for the Wicked

Okay. I am finally getting a respite and a chance to post something here. Yay!

Carlos authorized heavy rapier this weekend at Assessments. He was also told that he is the youngest fighter in the Kingdom to have an authorization in both forms.

It went like this:

Assessments. Rapier field. 10:30 a.m.

"Mom, do you think it's a good idea that I try to authorize schlager today?"

"Yes, it is. I've got everyone lined up and you might as well get it over with."

"But it is too early! I am still sleepy! Why did I have to wake up so early? Did I really have to come?"

(Ahhhh, teenagers! An ideal day is one that begins at 2 p.m.)

Assessments. Rapier field. 3:30 p.m.

"Hey, Carlos! Pack up your stuff, we're going home!"

"What!!!??? But I am fighting! And we are going to fight some more! And they need me! And I am having fun! Do I really need to leave????"

Ahhhh, my child has discovered the joy of melees.

He has also asked if he can keep the schlager.

I suspect that I will have trouble prying him from the fencing field.

Teenagers. They are a lot of fun to train . . .

***********************************************************

So I am strolling on the heavy field in my heavy armor when someone stops me and says: "Wow Belphoebe, are you abandoning rapier?"

Sigh.

As I said before, it seems that people get used to seeing you in a certain light and when you do something else, they assume that you will quit what you were doing before.

So no, for the Nth time, I am not quitting rapier.

Or siege, or music, or costuming, or embroidery, or anything that looks like fun, and I am more than willing to make a fool of myself with a spear at Pennsic.

So there.

I am just the kind of person that gets lured by all the shiny things that I find along the way, and I just follow my heart in whatever activity I happen to choose, much to the amusement of my friends.

What can I say?

I may not usually be able to walk and chew bubble gum, but I think that I can manage to engage in more than one activity at a time.

Especially if it involves poking at people with pointy objects, wacking them with a stick, or flinging (fake) rocks at them.

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!