powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2005-07-11 - 4:03 p.m.

Obsessing about French Fashion (Again)

Now that I am about to finish Denise's dresses, I am at liberty to start obsessing about my new project, namely a gown for me.

Here is my dilemma: I have 8 yards of really gorgeous deep burgundy light wool that I would really, really like to use. (And, have I mentioned that I looooove working with wool?)

On the other hand, all of the dresses that I have seen in French paintings and depictions of the type of gowns that Bel would have worn seem to be made out of a) velvet, b) silk, c) satin, or d) brocade.

So far, no wool.

Now, I seriously doubt that people wore only silks and velvets and brocades all the time. I would like to think that if you were knocking around at home or travelling, you would be bound to wear something made out of wool.

According to Janet Arnold, in "Queen Elizabeth's Wardrobe Unlock'd," Queen Elizabeth, "unlike everyone else" liked to wear her best garments when riding or travelling. That makes me think that "everyone else" wore something more sensible and less extravagant when they rode a horse or went out of town or both.

At least, that's what I would like to think.

Regrettably, I have not gathered more information that would support my theory -- although I imagine that middle class women would have worn wool quite often.

In Bel's case, although she is not of noble family, she is the daughter of a royal official (a judge) from Rouen, and she's been to Court. In fact, she is in the employ of Catherine de' Medici and although not exactly rich, it could be said that Bel is reasonably well off. I wonder if a wool dress would be appropriate at least for travelling.

I think it would. Otherwise I will have to dedicate that wool to making matching cassocks for Marcellus and me, which would be quite appropriate.

(Hey love, I think you'd love that!)

If I cannot figure this one out, I will have to resort to working with -- *gasp* -- velvet and I hate working with velvet.

But since I am in no particular hurry on this, I think that I will eventually figure it out and come up with something that I can document and that it looks like something that Bel would have worn.

I love that sort of thing.

Even if it means working with velvet.

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!