powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2005-06-28 - 1:07 p.m.

Still Going!

I just came back from the doctor's office for my six month checkup. The results? I am still cancer-free.

Yay!

It is always a big relief.

***********************************************************

"So, your Excellency," says Her Majesty pointing at The Baroness' Pride, which is fighting House Lion's Keep, "Your boys are on the field."

"Yes, Your Majesty." I say, "All six of them."

"Oh, you're right! You are fielding three teams, aren't you?"She says.

"Actually, Your Majesty, I am fielding four." I reply, a big smile on my face.

Challenge of the Heart was wonderful, and the fighters made me feel really special. Particularly the Ponte Alto Campioni and The Baroness' Pride, who had been planning this for a long time and went all out with it.

Thanks Kevin, Odde and Aradd; and Connor, Mygell, Jonah and James. You guys are truly awesome!

And thanks to the rest of the Pontoons who wore my favor. You all rock!

(The fact that my sweetie and the Ponte Alto team won the rapier tournament made the day even brighter!)

I also made another discovery or, rather, proved a theory of mine. Whevever you do something different, people do tend to get a little bit confused.

Take for instance last Pennsic. I was doing siege, heavy, rapier, and Pennsic Choir. Therefore, every time that something conflicted in my schedule, I got strange looks from people.

Me: "Sorry guys, I can't make that battle because it conflicts with my choir practice."

The other guy: "Urk? You are missing a battle because of choir??????"

Or, Me again: "Sorry guys, I cannot make choir practice because I have to be at the [insert battle here]."

The other guy: "Urk? You mean you fight?"

I get a lot of that and find it very amusing.

This weekend was no different. Because I was wearing a dress and not rapier armor, I was asked by several people if I was quitting rapier.

My response? No, I am not quitting rapier at all. In fact, I can slug it out with the the best of you at any given time. But this time I had a number of fighters who were wearing my favor -- some of which had specifically asked me not to fight so I could be there for them -- and who deserved my undivided attention.

Oh, they know that I will be fighting side-to-side with them on the Pennsic battlefield -- be it on the heavy or on the rapier fields -- but this time they wanted their Baroness in a dress, cheering for them.

And that's exactly what they got.

And I loved every second of it.

Damn. A girl could get used to this.

-- TTFN

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!