powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2005-06-17 - 1:03 p.m.

Of Skeletons and Closets

So the other day we are flipping channels on tv, when Marcellus stops at an oldie black and white, really bad, 50's science fiction movie.

It has all the elements that you would like to see in something inspired by Plan 9 From Outer Space: Scientists, aliens, guys in bad rubber suits and a skeleton on a string. Oh, and every bad piece of dialogue that you could ever imagine.

The title of this beauty is The Lost Skeleton of Cadavra. And no, this masterpiece of cheese was not made in the 60's, but in 2004.

Wow.

Nothing more horrifying than a mind-controlling skeleton cackling and selecting a bride. (He also managed to pick the ugliest female in the entire cast but, what does he know? He's a skeleton.)

And of course, there is the mutant alien. I found him absolutely adorable and, if you pay attention, you can see the combat boots of the guy under the rubber suit.

My favorite line?

This is horrible! You can't force aliens to dance!

I am sooooo puting it on my Amazon wish list!

***********************************************************

After much toil and trouble, I have finally come up with a design for my 16th Century French gown.

It will take a while though, since I have a bunch of other projects in the pipeline which will need to be finished before I even put scissors to fabric.

(Not to mention that I like to draft my documentation before and not after I put my stuff together.)

I already have the fabric, eight yards of beautiful burgundy wool flannel. I will still need to pick other material for undersleeves and so forth, but at least now I know what I am doing.

Fortunately, Denise's gowns are pretty much in their way to completion, and Marcellus' white scarf is nearly finished. The latter will feature some lace but that's a plan for the future.

Meaning that I will need to learn how to make lace first. (Imagine that.)

I always like to have costuming and embroidery projects going on at the same time. Embroidery is something that I can carry with me everywhere, whereas the other projects I can do at home.

Next embroidery project: Seamus' blackworked neckband and wristbands. Not a bad deal for a pair of really nifty armor legs that he made for me.

Then, there is the project that I am planning for Chalice which will take a while and, after that, my French dress.

I can't wait.

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!