powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2005-06-07 - 1:27 p.m.

On the Masters of Defence

In period, it took 14 years of relentless training for a student of the art of defence to attain the rank of Master.

This has gotten me thinking: What do we consider relentless training and, most important, is my own training relentless?

First things first, how many times a week do I train? If we would only take into account the times I fence, which is once or twice, we could say that my training is consistent but hardly relentless.

However, if we take into account that I wake up every day at 5:30 a.m. and drag my butt to the gym for a hard workout, and if we add that to the aforementioned fencing practices, then my training could qualify as relentless.

Add to that the occasional yoga or pilates class and dance practice, plus heavy practice, and I think I am in good shape.

So, if I have been doing this for seven years, I guess that I still have another seven to go. If nothing else, it is a good way to measure where I am in relation to where I want to go.

It is not, of course, the only measure of progress. This is just the beginning. I have also added the Zen element to my training and I am trying to get to the point in which I don't have to think about my fighting.

And every once in a while it even works.

I have my good days and my bad days. There are days in which I can run a line like nobody's business and days in which any five year old with a stick can beat my pants.

(Particularly if the day is hot, humid and my asthma is acting up.)

It is in those days when I wonder if I have learned anything about rapier at all.

And then, just when I begin to despair, things start clicking and I realize just how far I have come along.

Last Sunday someone asked me that since I am not cadeted to anyone anymore, if I would consider re-joining the Academie. I thought about it and my response was no. The reason being that I have grown comfortable with my independence from cadethood and Academie and it is a state of affairs that suits my style very well. (Although I love my Academie friends and I adore my Academie husband.)

Another reason for keeping my independence is that of persona development. Although it is conceivable that Belphoebe could have learned how to fence and even become competent in the art, it would have been near impossible for her to join a school or guild of defence. That simply did not happen in 16th Century France. At least not to well-bred ladies of decent families.

Anywhoo, being an independend fighter carries a price but it also has its perks, the biggest one is that I am competing only against myself. That takes a lot of pressure off my mind and allows me to do my thing at my own pace and set up my own goals.

Such as eventually becoming a Master.

Of course, the Masterhood has nothing to do with any rank or award systems. In this case, it is a state of being. And it will be very interesting, frustrating and rewarding getting there.

It will be a fun seven years.

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!