powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2005-06-06 - 4:44 p.m.

I'm Baaack . . .

Granny Weatherwax knew that it did not matter what ingredients you used to make a spell work. That's why she was a better witch than Magrat. But Magrat knew that it did matter and that's why she was a better doctor than Granny.

From the Discworld series by Terry Pratchett.
(And next time I will even remember from which book.)
-----------------------------------------------------------

I am back from my second trip to Mexico.

The good news is, my mom survived her femur surgery without a problem, in spite of all the other conditions that were threatening her life.

The bad news is, after the surgery (and mind you, no total anesthesia was used on her), her mind slipped rapidly into a condition called aphasia. Aphasia means that your brain gets affected and you lose the ability to communicate.

And that is only the beginning of all the neurological disfunctions that have hit her all at once, leading the doctors to think that there may be much more (possibly irreparable) brain and neurological damage.

I will not elaborate on all the discussions that we have been having with the doctors and what else is happening with her. Suffice to say that in order for her to undergo physical therapy and walk again she would need to have the presence of mind, the communication skills and the will to do it and follow instructions.

So far, that is not happening any time soon and we don't know whether it will in the future. Right now, our main concern is to figure out what to do since she needs continuous attention 24/7, and she cannot stay in the hospital forever.

My dad, brother and sister and I are working on it, and I am hopeful that we will find a viable solution soon.

One thing I can say, my sister has been a wonderful nurse to her, the kind that I would never be no matter how hard I try; my dad has demonstrated an undying love and tenderness for her that has brought tears to my eyes; and my brother is a wonderful man who will do everything in his power to get this sorted through.

As for me, I will be there for her and will do what I can as well to provide support for her well being. It is hard to be in the other side of the world, but I know what I have to do and I will do it.

But we are working together, all of us, and we have a united front which will help us do the best for my mom.

And I am only too happy that I got to see her and make my ammends with her while she was still able to communicate, and before the lights went out.

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!