powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2005-04-25 - 5:17 p.m.

It was an extremely productive weekend.

Our kitchen is looking very good, and it will be completely finalized next week. Painter is coming over tomorrow, and the floor will be installed on Monday. Window treatments on Wednesday.

I love that kitchen.

At any rate, Saturday we went to Seamus' to work on the gate for our Pennsic encampment, and I also got a chance to work on Denise's corded bodice.

Gate: In my enthusiasm with the chisel, I managed to slice my finger. Not a big cut, but deep enough for me to bleed all over the wood. So if now you hear stories of a vampire gate, you know where they came from.

Bodice: It's coming along nicely. Or so I hope. I ran into a couple of snafus, the first being that in my hurry to get out of the house I grabbed the wrong piece of linen. I did not notice until I started running the cords and I realized that I was having a lot more trouble to get them to line up properly.

So what happened? I got the lightweigt linen that I had for a shirt instead of the medium weight linen that I had reserved for Denise.

The drawback, lighter linen is a lot more difficult to work with for this sort of thing. The good news, it will be a much lighter and cooler bodice for Pennsic, and since it is corded, it will still provide the necessary support.

Oh, well.

I also tried it on Cat, who performed the role of "Stunt Chest" for me. Although Denise is a lot taller than Cat, they are both generously endowed and that allowed me to test the bodice on her and try to prove a couple of theories on the shape of the thing.

I think that it is going to work out nicely.

Sunday we kicked El Brato out of the house and sent him to fencing practice with Cat. Nice break for us -- who were celebrating our anniversary -- and it gave him the chance to go out and be social as opposed to sit on the couch all day and play videogames.

He was not amused at first, but then he gets along very well with Cat. The fact that she ended up taking him to the mall helped a lot. By the time he came back, he was laughing and joking and telling us all about his going out to practice and to the mall.

Ahhh, the joys of raising teenagers.

(And in case you were wondering, yes, we have been celebrating for two weeks. Our getaway was last week, but our actual anniversary was yestarday.)

(Heck, we do like to celebrate a lot, what can I say?)

(And I married the bestest guy in the whole wide world.)

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!