powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2005-04-11 - 1:32 p.m.

It was a fun and productive weekend.

Saturday we did some much needed shopping and Marcellus and Carlos cleaned up the deck so we could have company on Sunday. Meanwhile, I cut the inner shell for Denise's bodice for her Florentine Gown and experimented with boning with hemp cord.

Hooray for hemp cord! It is easy to use and the results are wonderful. I will not need more than three rows per side in the front open Florentine, but the gold one will be completely corded as it is a different style.

I ended up using two layers of linen for said bodice as opposed to canvas, and Marcellus made me some really nifty temporary lacing strips.

Needless to say, the pattern fitted the Denise perfectly.

Now I can work on the other one.

***********************************************************

Sunday we went to the Kingdom War practice and I finally got to do some rapier while Marcellus did heavy.

After several weeks of little or no practice (what with Carlos' meetings and me being sick), I thought that I would have a really hard time. However, I felt surprisingly comfortable with my individual game although I need to brush up in my melee skills.

(Then again, don't we all. That's what practice is for.)

We finished the evening by firing up the grill and having a very good time. We were hoping to have a functional kitchen by then but, alas, it was not to be.

Nevertheless, since the sink and the dishwasher were actually working, everything else was easy.

All in all, fun and productive.

Can't ask for much more.

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!