powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2005-03-15 - 1:50 p.m.

Another crazy week but, what can I say? It seems that things over here won't change any time soon, and they may get worse before they get better.

At any rate, we watched "Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow" this past weekend.

I must say I liked it. Marcellus and Carlos, on the other hand, had mixed feelings.

So here is my take on it.

First of all, it is one cool movie with an amazing camera-work. If you are the kind of geek that likes old-school science fiction movies such as "Metropolis," and "The Day the Earth Stood Still," this movie is for you.

(Heck, I am the proud owner of a copy of "Plan 9 From Outer Space"!)

(Although I have always wondered what happened with plans 1 to 8. Did they fail? Not enough zombies? Bela Lugosi not dead enough? Ran out of hubcaps? The world shall never know . . .)

At any rate, the look and feel of the movie is that of a vintage one. It is difficult to describe the camera work, but you can check out the trailers and I can only tell you that the entire movie is made with the same effect.

Really cool.

On the other hand, the character played by Gwyneth Paltrow is the most annoying one I have ever seen since Jar-Jar Binks.

Why is it that every time that they try to portray a strong, professional woman, they go for the chick that will withold vital information from everyone, punch every single button that she shouldn't, make every single noise that will attract the attention of the killer robots, take flash photography in dark places where you are supposed to be stealthy, and run on snow and jungle while wearing high heels?

We reached a point that every time anyone took a shot at her we did the wave and yelled "Yay!"

And no, the problem was not Gwyneth Paltrow. She did a damned good job portraying Polly Perkins (even her name is annoying!). The problem was the role itself.

The most unsympathetic heroine that I have seen in a movie in a long, long time.

On the other hand, Jude Law (Sky Captain) and Angelina Jolie were great. I particularly liked Jolie's character, Frankie Cook, as a badass girl with a really cool attitude. I just wished that they had developed her character better, and that they had spent more time with the relationship between her and Jude Law.

The good thing is, you don't know whether Sky Captain actually takes Polly back (they had been lovers once, and I do hope that he dumped her for good) or not.

I would like to think that he didn't and Polly went on to annoy other people instead, and that Sky Captain and Frankie jumped back into their respective planes and shot robots happily ever after.

The End.


rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!