powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2005-03-11 - 2:01 p.m.

I have been having all sorts of fun designing the two gowns for Denise.

We have agreed on a Florentine gown, of a cut similar to the one I entered at KASF, on blue brocade with pewter lacers, and a silk organza coverciere edged with gold thread.

She happened to have a nice blue brocade that will work well, since it is of a shade that I have found in some paintings. Not in a brocade mind you, more like on what looks like silk, but at least we know that the color existed in garments and perhaps what happened is that no one got their portrait painted while wearing blue brocade -- crimsons and blacks being more expensive and hence more suited for posterity. But it will work nicely.

Besides, this is Atlantia and our future Queen wanted Atlantia blue. So there. It will look nice, simple, elegant and Atlantian.

The second gown will be a style more like the one used between 1500 and 1525, with side lacing. That will be gold silk with black velvet guards and contrasting, reversible sleeves. Said sleeves "goiter" shaped, green on one side and orange/gold in the other one. That will give her the flexibility to get two looks in one dress.

I think it will be stunning on her.

(And I think I am having too much fun with this project.)

***********************************************************

Fencing practice was a "quickie" one last night, since I had to rush for Carlos' program. He is in the last stages and I really want to be there when he does his log. Didn't happen last night, but it will hopefully happen next Thursday.

Once he is done with this stage, we get our Thursdays back. (Yay!)

Most importantly, I have seen him respond and mature in leaps and bounds. I can only hope that it is for good.

At any rate, I got to do some frantic fighting with Cat, Seamus, Hadrurus and Jeff. They lined up and gave me hell for 10 straight minutes, bear-pit style, with no respite.

For those of you who do not fence, 10 minutes of straight fencing and no breaks may not sound like much but, believe me, it does run you ragged.

Particularly when everyone is just lining up over and over and yelling "Go! Go! Go! You're wasting time!"

No switching of weapons, no asking questions, no breaks, just the four of them fighting and lining up again and again to face me in an endless, revolving line.

In the end, they left me all hot, sweaty and hyperventilating but what can I say, nothing spells friendship like four people relentlessly giving you their best game just so you can have a chance to practice.

I love you guys!

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!