powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2005-03-08 - 5:03 p.m.

Okay. I am now officially exhausted.

What a couple of horribly busy days! I have not even had the time to do any updates, sigh.

Anywhoo.

KASF was a lot of fun.

Believe it or not, KASF and 12th Night are two of my favorite events. Perhaps it is because there are so many nifty things to see, or because I get to socialize more, or even even because these are some of the few events in which I can actually dress like a girl and look pretty.

(Yes, if you think about it, I show up at most events in my fencing garb and do not change out of it, except for wearing clean-er shoes for Court. Maybe.)

(And no, don't tell me that I could wear a dress on the field. I would never be able to run around, get into a really low stance, or parry with my feet when legged. Not without tripping, I won't.)

(Plus I like to be able to fight and not to trip in my own clothes, thankyouverymuch.)

At any rate, very nifty things happened during this particular KASF. For one thing, Benefse got her Pelican, and it was one of the most amazing ceremonies I have ever seen. Her grand entrance preceded by a cadre of dancers was most impressive. And I do not know who was playing the drums, but they rocked. It was awesome.

And her scroll was out of this world as well.

I was a little bit dissapointed that Marcellus and I could not get in and say hi to her during her vigil. The line was very long and, although we tried two or three times, we had no luck. Fortunately, we had the chance to congratulate her after Court, so it was all good.

The other ceremony that I thought was very powerful was Eldred's Laureling. Just having each and every member of the Order walk into Court and introduce themselves, and say "I am so and so, and I declare that this man is my equal," almost made me cry.

Really, really amazing.

I was also very happy to have won one of the Kingdom A&S Champions with my crackhead Florentine Gown project. But more than that, the sheer number of tokens and nice comments that people left for me has had me jumping up and down with joy for days.

(Now we have undertaken making a couple of Italian gowns for Denise, and that will be a fun project. I will have a lot of help, as I don't have the time to undertake this on my own. Not with all the other projects that I have in the pipeline. But with Marcellus, Vitha, Cat, Greta and Seamus onboard, we will be good. We all make a good team, and this will be a team project.)

(I am really excited.)

There is another highlight to the event, and that is Carlos retaining for HRM. Best of all, he had a lot of fun doing that. He has been told that he will be recruited for doing it again at Storvik Baronial Birthday and Investiture, whenever he is not fighting.

I think that my child is finally bonding with us in a more positive way. He's a great kid.

Of course, the funny thing was that he had to share a room with Cat, Delfina and Cwen, which made him exclaim with heartfelt emotion: "Aaaarghhhh!!!!!!" But he did get along with the girls very well and had a great time.

And I love my husband, he has been so supportive of me and my projects. Even when I go nuts just before an event trying to make sure that I have not forgotten any of my entries, documentation, garb, my head, you name it.

At this point I had the Florentine Gown in the KASF Champs competition; the white scarf I am embroidering for him in the embroiderer's guild display; the Garb Wars dress that I promised to bring over for the St. Anne's Guild of Clothier's display; and a design for the royal crowns that I had promised Lucia that I would make and enter into the competition.

Add to that the dummy to display the aforementioned dress, documentation for all of the above, and Marsaili's various artifacts that she was displaying as Baronial Artisan, and it was enough to make me run around in hysterics.

But he keeps his head cool and thinks ahead, and keeps me from throwing myself from the balcony.

He is the best, and I am a lucky gal for having him.

'Nuff said.

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!