powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2005-02-08 - 4:19 p.m.

naga
The Indian snake creature known as the naga was
believed to reside in groups apart from normal
humans, and many legends tell of their secret
citites hidden deep in the jungle, underground,
or underwater. In many tales, the naga is often
of royal lineage, or sometimes even divinity.
Nagas are often associated with water, and it
is said that they can control the weather.

As a naga, you possess strong leadership abilities,
you are highly intelligent, and you can also be
a bit intimidating. You also enjoy the finer
things in life and like to be pampered, and
you're not too keen on mixing and mingling with
the unwashed masses.


Who is your inner Shapeshifter?
brought to you by Quizilla

Hmmmm . . . I am not so sure about this, although I do have a penchant for dressing in snakeskin skirts . . .

***********************************************************

I have been having a devil of a time researching French late 16th Century fashions. As AoD said to me once, it seems that France had a 14th Century, Germany had a 15th Century, and England had a 16th Century.

It is very frustrating.

Even worse, most of the French portraits end at 1560. After that, nothing.

Or maybe I should not say nothing. There are plenty of French paintings out there, only that apparently they went into a Greek culture frenzy and everyone is naked and pretending to be Aphrodite or Hera or a nymph running away from a faun. As you can imagine, that doesn't help me much.

(Hey, here comes Belphoebe as, what? Cover yourself woman! You're going to catch a cold!)

Oh, there are some portraits all right. Diana de Poitiers, the mistress of Henri II, for example (although, again, she is 1560 at the most), is a shining example of this.

I had read in several historical accounts that she used to dress exclusively in black and white.

"Groovy!" I say, "I love black and white!"

So I immediately decide that I must make a garment inspired in one of hers.

I then diligently proceed to make an Internet search for portraits of the aforementioned lady and, lo and behold, I find not one, but two portraits!

Bingo?

Not exactly.

The lady happens to be topless.

In both paintings.

So okay, now we know that The Duchess of Valentinois (Diana de Poitiers) had a great figure but she is still not being much help . . .

Sigh.

(Can I go to the next event as the Duchess of Valentinois? No? Damn!)

But I am determined. By Hera I will find out what French women wore after 1560! I have several theories, and I am looking into what Spanish and Italian women wore.

The reason for this is that Belphoebe is an agent for the French Crown. Catherine de Medici's Crown, The Italian Woman. I imagine (read, wishful thinking) that there might have been some kind of influence from her. We do know that she introduced chopines into the French Court, so who knows what else she brought with her?

Hope springs eternal.

That should hopefully give me some ideas. Plus Belphoebe spent some time in Spain, doing her job. (Catherine had a lot of comings and goings with the Spanish, among other people). Who knows? Maybe I will eventually find something useful.

Ahhh, the joys of research . . .

But currently, going to Ymir in an outfit inspired by paintings of Diana de Poitiers would definitely be a recipe for catching a cold . . .

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!