powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2005-02-02 - 5:20 p.m.

I love it when the little voices in my head get into an argument. Particularly an argument about fabric.

Hmmmm . . . I don't have enough lightweight black linen to line my sleeves.

Hey, look! Isn't that beige Dupioni? I bet you could line them with that! They would look real good!

Yeah, but who's gonna see the lining? And it is Dupioni, woman! Dupioni! What if I need it for something else later?

Okay, can you tell me specifically what you're planning to do with it?

Er . . . I don't know . . . But I may need it later . . .

And how long has that piece of fabric been sitting in your stash?

Dunno . . . two . . . three years, maybe . . .

And it is going to sit for another three in you don't do anything with it! Dammit! If you need more in three years, you go buy more!

So, anyway, I am having a competition with myself -- and the little voices in my head -- called "Let's see how many pieces of garb can La Belphoebe make with the stuff that is lurking in her sewing room."

Oh, and the garb must be made with the right period materials, just to make it more exciting.

So far, I am winning. Or maybe I am losing. It all depends which little voice you are talking to.

Anywhoo, here is the score:

One velvet doublet for Marcellus, black linen lining included. (So okay, I didn't make that one. Marcellus did. But I am counting it anyway as we dug the fabric up from the same stash.)

One black wool Italian Ren dress, with black linen lining, canvas interfacing, and boning.

One pair of kickass sleeves for said dress, lined in Dupioni. (Yes, as you may have guessed, that particular little voice won the argument.)

And last but not least, one camicia in lightweight white linen.

Sadly, I did have to go to G Street Fabrics today to acquire a yard of silk organza for the coverciere (the partlet), but since I did not have to spend any money on the rest of the stuff, I will call it even.

Now the voices in my head are arguing about the wisdom of making fencing armor in camouflage fabric.

After all, it is in the stash.

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!