powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2005-01-12 - 1:16 p.m.

Now that 12th Night is over, I can concentrate on planning my next projects.

The first two royal cloaks are finally finished (well, almost, as we are still awaiting for a couple of roundels), but now we have to look into the Prince and Princess.

We had thought that we had finished with all the roses and leaves, but it so happens the roses were smaller than expected so more roses are needed. Also some more leaves. Anyone game to make a couple? They are not difficult to make, only time consuming.

This time I have volunteered to make only three more roses. I know that if push comes to shove I will end up jumping back into the project, but I did not want to volunteer more than that right now, since I have some other projects in the pipeline and I would like to take care of that as well.

First of all, I would like to finish Marcellus' new white scarf. At the rate I am going, I think that this will be my only entry at the KASF.

I would have liked to have entered the *other* project that I had planned on, but I was caught in the crackhead cloak project and I was not able to even start my documentation on time. There is no way in heaven I am going to be able to finish the darned thing in time for KASF.

And as Miracle Max would put it, a hurried miracle is a rotten miracle.

But if anyone has seen those cloaks, it was worth it.

So as I said, my entry will be the WS which, although not a period object, it is done in period stitches -- which are documented -- and it is pretty nifty. Plus I can always show off my snufkyn for good measure.

On the bright side, my *other* project can probably be ready -- or so I hope -- for Coronation. So there. Hope springs eternal.

I also need to make an Italian Ren dress for Performer's Symposium. Not that I need a new dress, but any excuse for new garb is a good excuse. Besides, Ponte Alto is an Italian barony and what better excuse can I have than that? Plus Italian fashion is so flattering and so pretty!

Fortunately, I have the pattern that Giuliana made for me (thanks Guiliana!) and I am going to rope Marcellus into helping me to fit the mock up. I already have the fabric for the actual gamurra and the tabard. I only need to shop for a nifty brocade for the sleeves and figure out what I am going to line the tabard with.

Oh, and nice eyelets for the bodice. Must have nice eyelets. Unless, of course, I make them by hand. But since there is enough pictorial evidence of rings and other fashionable styles, I may be able to get away with it.

Yeah.

I would have liked to make something for the Burgundian event but, alas, there is not enough time. Vitha has offered her nifty houppelande and I am tempted to take her up on it.

However, that houppie is furred and very winter-like. For a lady such as myself that tends to get hot flashes at the most inconvenient times, this may not be an option.

(Tamoxifen will do that to you any day.)

(Also, you have not lived until you get a hot flash in the middle of a fencing bout.)

(Alle Psallite members on Bel's hot flashes at choir practice: "Hey, Belphoebe is getting serious now! She's taking her clothes off! Gah!")

Anyway, I may end up wearing my 15th Century cote at the Burgundian event. It may not be the right garb, but it is more hot-flash friendly.

And one of these days, I will make me one of them cool Burgundian outfits. With headpiece!

Yeah.

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!