powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2004-12-28 - 3:04 p.m.

This Christmas was nice and mellow. And not having to drive anywhere or drive anybody to the airport for the first time in years was nice too. Plus being able to sleep over on Christmas day was a real treat.

You see, Marcellus' family decided to celebrate Christmas the weekend before (December 18-19), so everyone could travel while avoiding the holiday rush.

That was a brilliant idea, since it gave us the opportunity to enjoy the company of the family without any stress. Regrettably, we had to drive back a little bit early on Sunday as it began to snow and, being Pennsylvania, we could not risk being stuck as the next Monday was a school day for Carlos and workdays for Marcellus and myself.

But we had a very good time.

I so hope that they do it again like that next year.

***********************************************************

Actual Christmas Eve dinner was, as I had mentioned before, nice and cozy. It was Carlos, Marcellus, Cos and myself, as Hector continues his declaration of War on Christmas. Oh, well, more turkey for us.

Since there would be only four of us, I prepared not a whole turkey but a turkey breast as I refuse to have a buttload of turkey leftovers.

So why do you want to divorce this woman?

Your Honor, the woman feeds me turkey!

And what is wrong with turkey? Don't you like it?

I do! But she started feeding it to me at Christmas and we are now in Easter!

But I digress . . .

As I said, the menu was pretty nice, with the gravy and mashed potatoes, string bean casserole, and my infamous upside-down pinneaple cake. (And yes, I have noticed. Upside-down turkey for Thanksgiving, upside-down pinneaple cake for Christmas. I like to turn things upside-down. One of my many hobbies.)

Christmas day we opened presents in the morning, and then went to a movie in the afternoon.

The movie theater was surprisingly packed with people, probably because it was the only thing to do on a Christmas day as everything else was closed. Or maybe they were attempting to hide from their relatives. Who knows what lurks in the hearts of men?

At any rate, the movie was "National Treasure" and we liked it very much. First of all, it has Nicholas Cage, so it has to be good. And then it has Harvey Keitel, so it's even better. It is some sort of cross between "The Da Vinci Code" and the Indiana Jones movies, but without the gross factor.

Doesn't get much better than that.

And there is more to the Christmas story, but now I need to rush because we are meeting with the kitchen designer in half an hour (yay!), so I will have to continue with this posting tomorrow.

Ciao!

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!