powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2004-11-28 - 12:12 p.m.

So we have been celebrating Thanksgiving since last Sunday.

Yes, the good members of House Fallen From Grace decided to have a pre-Thanksgiving, Zada Homecoming, Seamus' Induction, Holiday Extravaganza, which basically means spending time together, induct Seamus into the household, spend time with Zada, who was visiting from the Netherlands for a few days, eat a lot of food and play a full contact game of Guillotine.

And of course, on Thanksgiving day we got together again -- sans Zada, who had returned to the Netherlands but who called us at dinnertime and got to talk to all of us -- and had a great time.

The funniest thing is that we had thought that we would be spending Thanksgiving day just Carlos, Marcellus and myself, and we ended up with a full house.

I love a full house.

I also got to finally make again my Upside Down Turkey, which I had not made in several years thanks to Maternal Trauma.

You see, several years ago, my mother came to visit for Christmas. And every Christmas I used to make my recipe for Upside Down Turkey. It is a great method for cooking turkey but it takes a couple of hours longer than your usual method. However, since it is done in very low heat, and upside down -- you flip the bird, really, just during the last hour of cooking -- it is the moistest, most delicious turkey ever.

Well, to make a long story short, she started bugging me every five minutes with "That bird is done." "You have to take that bird out of that oven." "It will be dry and nasty if you don't take it out."

So when you have someone doing that every 5 minutes, you end up believing them and you take it out.

I had guests.

When I carved the turkey, the damned thing was not done.

From then on, I simply baked my turkey the night before, using the much faster method of braising first and then cooking at 350 degrees. Then making a buttload of gravy and soaking the carved bird overnight while covering it with foil. Next day, you put it in the oven at 350 degress and voila, you have perfect, moist turkey.

But it is not the same as the Upside Down Turkey.

So this time I decided to spend the day doing it my favorite way and it came out perfect.

I call it The Redemption Turkey.

And again, we ate too much, laughed a lot and got to play -- again -- a cutthroath game of Guillotine. Really. That thing is addictive.

And what better way to celebrate Thanksgiving?

Then yesterday we went to see "The Incredibles." Here is my review: There are no boring parts in which you can take a break and go to the bathroom, so be prepared if you are planning on seeing it!

Belphoebe out.

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!