powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2004-11-08 - 12:01 p.m.

Wow, talk about a busy weekend.

Marcellus and I made a lot of progress with unpacking. We can now see the floor of the living room. We also discovered some more goodies about the house. There is gorgeous hardwood under the carpeting. Why would anyone put carpeting over perfectly good hardwood, I will never know. However, taking out the carpet and bringing out the hardwood will have to wait until when we tackle the Master Bedroom project in 2006 or 2007.

For now, the fixing of the patio comes first. Why? Because the way this particular patio was set up is ruining the foundation, that's why. We are having a contractor coming up and digging the entire thing and putting a new patio, with retaining wall and drainage. That will stop the problem and give a new lease on life to the huge 200 year tree that lives in our backyard.

Ohhhh, the trees. That's one of the things that we love about this house. Really big, old threes, a nice chunk of land, and all inside the Beltway. Bliss.

Kitchen and master bathroom are next, but staggered through 2005. Those are really big projects and we also had the contractors over the weekend to talk about design and get estimates. Are we having fun yet?

I also went to practice yesterday. It was not bad, but I have had better days. I guess that the fatigue and stress of the past three months, dealing with selling and buying a house, the Carlos' soap opera, and having virtually no news from Hector (my eldest), really set in all at once.

Thank goodness, I did find out that Hector, my Dark Child, is doing okay and working at a bookstore. I paid him a visit on Saturday and was relieved that he was alive and well. (There is a god and he loves him. I also swear that his guardian angel is working overtime and has probably obtained several medals because of him, god bless him.)

But in the end, all this stress got the best of me at the end of practice. I wanted to hang out with the gang and go out to dinner, but at the same time I just wanted to curl up in a sofa and have a good cry. Oh, and some chicken soup.

So I went home, and my sweetie made me quesadillas and reheated chicken soup for me, and curled up in the sofa with me and let me cry until I felt better. Then we went to bed and I read a good book (actually, it's not such a good book, but it is very entertaining), and life was good again.

I love Marcellus.

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!