powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Une Robe Magnifique My Costuming Webpage

Sluggy Freelance: Worship the Comic!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

LJ Move

Server Fu

Handout Uploaded

Back to the Drawing Board

It takes a practice to train a kid

2004-11-05 - 9:54 p.m.

Those of you who, like me, are still mourning the results of the election, go visit Michael Moore's webpage. It will cheer you up. (www.michaelmoore.com)

And if you are not in mourning, go visit it anyway. It's really worth it.

This whole thing has gotten me thinking and I am seriously considering applying for my US citizenship at last.

Why? So I can vote, that's why.

I can't just sit in the sidelines and do nothing. It will be my small contribution in the pursuit and promotion of democracy.

I have been elegible for citizenship for many, many years, and I have always been reluctant to do it. I guess it has to do with issues of identity, combined with an aversion to filling out forms and dealing with INS staff. It is a royal pain in the butt.

The forms and the INS staff I can deal with, but the issue of identity has probably been more weighty than anything else. It is a cultural thing.

You see, unlike other countries in this world, where people who migrate to other countries are always welcome back, where I come from moving out is considered disloyal and almost a treason to the mother land. It is really silly, but I have always said that Mexico is a very jealous mother.

Having said that, the truth of the matter is that I have been living here for decades and I have no intention of going back. Therefore, I might as well get involved with a full right to vote and get involved in the issues.

And because Mexico has finally accepted to recognize multiple nationality, I don't have to lose my Mexican citizenship in order to obtain the American one.

So if nothing else, this past election has gotten me to reflect on a decision that I have been postponing for a very long time.

rewind - fast forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!